ALABAMA BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY AND
AUDIOLOGY LICENSE (ABESPA)

RENEWAL NOTICE / APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

2019 - 2020

YOUR CURRENT LICENSE EXPIRES DECEMBER 31, 2019

***THERE IS NO GRACE PERIOD** If your license has not been renewed by
December 31%%, you must cease and desist from practicing Speech-Language
Pathology and/or Audiology. Failure to renew in a timely manner will result in late
fees, CE audit, notification to your employer, and insurance carriers. It is aviolation
to practice without a license which could result in a fine of up to $1,000 for each
offense (every patient/client).

Complete and provide the following documents:
A) Page 1- Identification information including Fees Schedule

B) Page 2- Verification Signature

C) Page 3- ABESPA continuing Education Reporting Form

NOTE: if audited, supporting documents MUST be included with renewal

D) Send a check, money order, etc. with the total fees

You can renew two (2) ways:
Online: www.abespa.alabama.gov
(If you have been selected for auditing or this is your first time renewing, you CANNOT use this
procedure. Online renewal is only available thru December 31st)

Mail to: ABESPA
P.O. Box 304760
Montgomery, Alabama 36130-4760

Contact information: Telephone: 334-269-1434
Email: abespa@abespa.alabama.gov

RENEW BEFORE DECEMBER 31, 2019
Original SIGNATURE REQUIRED ON PAGE -2-



http://www.abespa.alabama.gov/
http://www.abespa.alabama.gov/

ALABAMA BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR SPEECH - LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY AND
AUDIOLOGY LICENSE (ABESPA) RENEWAL NOTICE / APPLICATION FOR 2019-20

NAME ABESPA LICENSE #
ADDRESS
Street City State Z1p
PHONE: Home Cell
*SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (last four digits only) XXX-XX- Required by law.

Code of Alabama 1975, Section 30-3-194. If not included, documents will be returned.)

EMAIL ADDRESS

**U.S. CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT

(You must include the congressional district of your residence (only if you live in Alabama). You can
get this information from your County Registrar. If not included, documents will be returned).

Primary Employer Name

Address

Street City State Z1p

Employer Phone Number

FEES
This is an application for:
License Renewal: SLP AUD Amount Encl.
($100.00) ($100.00)
Inactive Status: SLP AUD Amount Encl.
(Must be requested ($50.00) ($50.00)
prior to January 31st)
Late Fee:  ($20 per month starting 02-01-20) Amount Encl.

(Proof of CE hours must also be attached)
You CAN NOT practice without a CURRENT license! (Code- 870-X-4-.03)

TOTAL AMOUNT =

NON-RENEWAL REASON:

1. I 'am working in an exempt setting. (ABESPA Code: 870-X- 2-.01)

____ 2. I have moved to another state and | am no longer practicing in Alabama.
3. lamretired and no longer practicing in the State of Alabama.

____ 4. OTHER:

PAGE 1



ABESPA CEU INFORMATION / VERIFICATION SIGNATURE

You must complete a minimum of twelve (12) hours per license of continuing education within each
calendar year as a condition of licensure. (January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019).

1. If this is your FIRST renewal period, you are required to have One (1) hour of
continuing education for each month licensed.

2. If this is your ANNUAL renewal, list your twelve (12) hours continuing education
activities on Page 3. A minimum of 10 hours are specific for improving professional
clinical competence (Content Area I) ABESPA suggests you include 1 hour of Ethics.
Two (2) hours can be in an area related to licensure (Content Area II). (ABESPA Code:
870-X-4-.08)

UNLESS YOU HAVE BEEN SELECTED FOR AUDIT OR IF YOU ARE RENEWING AFTER JANUARY 31ST DO
NOT INCLUDE ANY SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS WITH THIS FORM. Keep all CE supporting documents for
five (5) years in case you are audited. ABESPA is required to randomly select at least 25% of license renewals
for audit each year.

* | understand THERE IS NO GRACE PERIOD. If my license has not been renewed by
December 31%, | will cease and desist from practicing Speech-Language Pathology and / or
Audiology. Failure to renew in a timely manner will result in late fees, CE audit, notification to my
employer and insurance carriers. | understand it is a violation to practice without a license which
could result in a fine of up to $1,000 for each offense (every patient / client).

I, the undersigned, certify that all information contained herein is true and correct to the best of my

knowledge and belief, and | agree to abide by the continuing education audit procedures. | also
understand that | must comply with the ethical rules governing ABESPA licensees.

Signhature: Date:

***The Alabama Board of Examiners for Speech Pathology and Audiology (ABESPA) does not discriminate on the basis of
race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age or disability in employment or the provision of services.

ABESPA USE ONLY:

DATE RECEIVED AT OFFICE FEE RECEIVED
RENEWAL APPROVAL DATE INITIALS
RENEWAL PENDING

Renew by December 31, 2019
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Name: License Number
ABESPA CONTINUING EDUCATION REPORTING FORM
The required hours must be completed in the twelve-month period of January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019
Date of Continuing Education Activity Sponsort Content Area || Content Area
Activity | 1l
(CEH) (CEH)
Max. 2 hours

TOTAL (content areas | & II)

Who sponsored activity, e.g., ASHA, ABESPA, SHAA, University, school system, etc.

2CEH = Continuing Education Hours. Only report CEH. An ASHA CEU of 0.1 = 1.0 ABESPA CEH.

If additional space is needed, please attach separate sheet
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